Fr | En | 中文

Robert Hensler, Attorney-at-law & Former State Chancellor

Robert Hensler has a very solid legal and economic background. In 1979 he obtained the certificate of Attorney-at-law and became member of the Geneva Bar.

Robert Hensler would be pleased to assist you in any legal matter, notably in administrative law, tax law, corporate law, mergers & acquisitions, contract law, finance and capital market law, employment law, as well as to help you with the incorporation of new companies. He has perfect knowledge of federal, cantonal and communal administrations, and of their structures and inner workings.

Personal  Profile

Links

Robert Hensler's Career

Robert Hensler has a degree in law from the University of Geneva and extensive experience in the field of economics. He joined the Geneva Bar in 1979. His professional career, encompassing the public and private sectors, has given him in-depth knowledge of both worlds.

From 1979 to 1981, he worked as an attorney-at-law for the Geneva Business Council (Fédération des Entreprises Romandes), after having served as a lawyer at the Geneva Bar. He then joined the State of Geneva as Head of Legal Affairs for the Ministry of the Economy. His responsibilities in this position include assisting companies in establishing themselves in Geneva, and dealing with labour relationships and with Palexpo, the Geneva trade show venue.

In 1993, the State Council of the Republic and Canton of Geneva appointed him State Chancellor. In 1997, 2001 and 2005, the Geneva State Government renewed his mandate, which he kept until 2009 when he chose not to pursue a fifth mandate. The 16 years he spent in one of the most key positions in the State of Geneva have given him outstanding knowledge of public administration, as well as precious contacts within the highest ranks both nationally and internationally.

In 2009 he joins the organising committee of the Geneva Motor Show, the largest annual motor show in the world, of which he had already been a member from 1990 till 1993.

In 2010, Robert Hensler decided to come back to the bar, first at the Kaiser Böhler law firm and from October 2012 at the Managing Partners of the firm Fontanet & Associés, in which Frédéric Hensler is also a Partner, both renowned Geneva law firms. In his functions as Attorney and Managing Partner, he assumes the defense of the interests of foreign States and several Multinationals, companies of our country, as well as Swiss and foreign personalities.

Alongside the attorney’s duty, he assumes chairmanship of the board of Palexpo Ltd and of the company operating the Geneva Arena concert hall, and that of the multinational Company TOTAL GESTION INTERNATIONALE SA (TGI). He is also Chairman or member of several boards of Swiss and International Companies which are active, in particular, in the fields of electricity, large scale catering, chocolate, construction, housing, management, energy, education and health.

Fr | En | 中文

Robert Hensler, avocat & ancien chancelier d'état

Titulaire du brevet d'avocat depuis 1979 et inscrit au Barreau de Genève, Robert Hensler dispose d'une solide formation juridique et économique.

Robert Hensler est spécialisé dans les services juridiques, notamment en droit administratif, droit fiscal, droit des sociétés, fusions et acquisitions, droit des contrats, droit financier et marchés des capitaux, droit du travail, ainsi que dans l’assistance à l’établissement d’entreprises. Il connaît parfaitement le fonctionnement des administrations fédérales, cantonales et communales.

Profil personnel

Liens associés

Le parcours de Robert Hensler

Robert Hensler, licencié en droit de l’Université de Genève et ayant une grand pratique en économie, s’est inscrit au barreau de Genève en 1979. Son parcours professionnel à la charnière du monde institutionnel et du secteur privé lui a donné une grande connaissance de ces deux univers.

De 1979 à 1981, il assume les fonctions d’avocat conseil auprès de la Fédération des entreprises romandes (FER). Il entre ensuite au service de l'Etat de Genève, comme Directeur des affaires juridiques du Département de l’économie publique. A ce poste, il s’occupe notamment de l’implantation d’entreprises étrangères à Genève, des relations du travail et de Palexpo, centre international d’expositions et de congrès.

En 1993, le conseil d’Etat de la République et canton de Genève le nomme chancelier d’Etat. A trois reprises, respectivement en 1997, 2001 et 2005, le Gouvernement renouvelle son mandat qu’il conserve jusqu’en 2009. Robert Hensler renonce alors à un cinquième mandat. Les seize ans passés au sommet de l’Etat lui ont donné une excellente connaissance de l’administration et de ses rouages, ainsi que des contacts politiques au plus haut niveau et des relais à Berne, capitale fédérale de la Suisse.

En 2010 Robert Hensler décide de rejoindre le barreau, d'abord auprès de l'étude Kaiser Böhler puis dès octobre 2012 le collège des associés de l'étude Fontanet et Associés, deux études renommées de la place de Genève. Dans ses fonctions d'avocat et d'associé d'Etude, il assume notamment la défense des intérêts d'états étrangers, de nombreuses multinationales ainsi que de personnalités suisses et étrangères.

Il conseille des multinationales, des sociétés chinoises qui se sont implantées en Suisse et des Etats étrangers.

Parallèlement aux mandats d’avocat, il assume également la présidence de Palexpo SA, la société faîtière du centre d'exposition genevois, de la société d'exploitation de l'Arena, salle polyvalente de spectacles genevois et celle de la multinationale Total Gestion Internationale SA (TGI). Il est également administrateur ou conseil de nombreuses sociétés suisses et internationales actives notamment dans les domaines de l'électricité, la grande restauration, le chocolat, la construction, le logement, la gérance, l'énergie, l'enseignement et la santé. Il préside également des fondations de santé publique et de bienfaisance.

En 2009 il entre au comité d'organisation du Salon International de l'Automobile de Genève, le plus grand salon annuel au monde, dont il avait déjà été membre de 1990 à 1993.